egroj world: Louis Armstrong • In Scandinavia, Vol. 1

viernes, 18 de junio de 2021

Louis Armstrong • In Scandinavia, Vol. 1


Review by Scott Yanow
This intriguing reissue has all of the existing music from Louis Armstrong's tours of Scandinavia in 1933, 1949, and the first part of his visit in 1952. These live performances are mostly previously unissued with the exception of the first three selections, which are part of an invaluable film featuring Armstrong in particularly brilliant form on "Tiger Rag." The next three numbers were performed by the same group a week later and are highlighted by a four-minute version of "On the Sunny Side of the Street." "Twelfth Street Rag" and "Steak Face" are all that exist from the 1949 visit, with the remaining ten selections being from a typical but generally enjoyable 1952 concert. In addition to such standbys as "Indiana" and "A Kiss to Build a Dream On," there are individual features for most of Armstrong's sidemen, with Satch often stealing the show when he joins in. "Bugle Blues" wraps up the set in joyous fashion. Although not essential, this CD will be enjoyed by Louis Armstrong collectors.


Reseña de Scott Yanow
Esta intrigante reedición cuenta con toda la música existente de las giras de Louis Armstrong por Escandinavia en 1933, 1949 y la primera parte de su visita en 1952. Estas actuaciones en directo son en su mayoría inéditas, con la excepción de las tres primeras selecciones, que forman parte de una película de valor incalculable en la que Armstrong está especialmente brillante en "Tiger Rag". Los tres números siguientes fueron interpretados por el mismo grupo una semana después y destacan por una versión de cuatro minutos de "On the Sunny Side of the Street". "Twelfth Street Rag" y "Steak Face" son todo lo que existe de la visita de 1949, y las diez selecciones restantes son de un típico pero generalmente agradable concierto de 1952. Además de los clásicos como "Indiana" y "A Kiss to Build a Dream On", hay temas individuales para la mayoría de los acompañantes de Armstrong, con Satch a menudo robando el espectáculo cuando se une. "Bugle Blues" cierra el conjunto de forma alegre. Aunque no es esencial, este CD será disfrutado por los coleccionistas de Louis Armstrong. ...


1 - I Cover The Waterfront -
2 - Dinah -
3 - Tiger Rag -
4 - Chinatown My Chinatown -
5 - You Rascal You -
6 - On The Sunny Side Of The Street -
7 - Twelfth Street Rag -
8 - Steak Face -
9 - When It's Sleepy Time Down South -
10 - Indiana -
11 - A Kiss To Build A Dream On -
12 - Way Down Yonder In New Orleans -
13 - Coquette -
14 - Lover Come Back To Me -
15 - Can Anyone Explain? -
16 - After You've Gone -
17 - Russian Lullaby -
18 - Bugle Blues / Ole Miss -

1933: LOUIS ARMSTRONG AND HIS HOT HARLEM BAND Louis Armstrong (tp,vo), Charles S. Johnson (tp), Lionel Guimaraes (tb), Peter DuCongé, Harry Tyree, Fletcher Allen (reeds), Justo Barrato (p), German Araco (b), Oliver Tines (dr),CHAR(13) + CHAR(10)1949: LOUIS ARMSTRONG AND HIS ALL STARS Louis Armstrong (tp), Jack Teagarden (tb), Barney Bigard (cl), Earl Hines (p), Arvell Shaw (b), Cozy Cole (dr), Velma Middleton (vo) 1952: LOUIS ARMSTRONG AND HIS ALL STARS Louis Armstrong (tp), Trummy Young (tb), Bob McCracken (cl), Marty Napoleon (p), Arvell Shaw (b), Cozy Cole (dr), Velma Middleton (vo)

Label: Storyville Records ‎– 1018348
Released: 2005
Genre: Jazz

MORE Louis Armstrong ...

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive or device after reading it.
thank for the original uploader


No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario