egroj world: Milt Jackson, Ray Brown, Mickey Roker & Joe Pass • All Too Soon The Ellington Album

jueves, 1 de agosto de 2019

Milt Jackson, Ray Brown, Mickey Roker & Joe Pass • All Too Soon The Ellington Album

Review by Scott Yanow
The quartet that went by the name "Quadrant" (guitarist Joe Pass, vibraphonist Milt Jackson, bassist Ray Brown and drummer Mickey Roker) recorded two albums for Pablo; this one has not been reissued on CD yet. For this project, the group plays nine Duke Ellington compositions, Billy Strayhorn's "Take the 'A' Train," and Juan Tizol's "Caravan." The four masterful musicians play up to their potential; the interplay and blend between Jackson and Pass is appealing, and there are a fair share of exciting moments on the respectful and swinging set. Highlights include "Caravan," "Mood Indigo," "Main Stem" and "Rocks In My Bed."


Reseña de Scott Yanow
El cuarteto que se llamaba "Quadrant" (el guitarrista Joe Pass, el vibrafonista Milt Jackson, el bajista Ray Brown y el baterista Mickey Roker) grabó dos discos para Pablo; éste aún no ha sido reeditado en CD. Para este proyecto, el grupo interpreta nueve composiciones de Duke Ellington, "Take the'A' Train" de Billy Strayhorn y "Caravan" de Juan Tizol. Los cuatro músicos magistrales tocan al máximo de su potencial; la interacción y la mezcla entre Jackson y Pass es atractiva, y hay un buen número de momentos emocionantes en el respetuoso y oscilante set. Lo más destacado incluye "Caravana", "Mood Indigo", "Tallo principal" y "Rocas en mi cama".

Amazon ... 

1 - Caravan - 4:00
2 - Sophisticated Lady - 5:31
3 - All Too Soon - 4:04
4 - I'm Beginning To See The Light - 3:16
5 - Mood Indigo - 3:31
6 - Solitude - 3:13
7 - Take The "A" Train - 3:33
8 - Main Stem - 4:44
9 - In A Sentimental Mood - 4:42
10 - Just A Sittin' And A Rockin' - 4:40
11 - Rocks In My Bed - 6:06

Recorded at Group IV Studios (Hollywood, CA); January 21, 1980.

Label: Pablo Records ‎– 2312-117
Released: 1980
Genre: Jazz

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

2 comentarios: