egroj world: Roy Brown-Wynonie Harris • Battle Of The Blues-Vol 1

viernes, 28 de diciembre de 2018

Roy Brown-Wynonie Harris • Battle Of The Blues-Vol 1

Review by Stephen Cook
This first volume of King's Battle of the Blues series features two of the label's biggest acts: Roy Brown and Wynonie Harris. Having already made their names in the late '40s as premier blues shouters on the R&B and jump blues circuit, both singers migrated to the Cincinnati independent and reached even loftier chart heights. Brown takes up the first side with seven sides of his animated and gospel-fired vocals, including the classic "Boogie at Midnight." For his part, Harris indulges his rougher-hewn vocal cords for an update of his big smash, the Brown-penned "Good Rockin' Tonight," and one of his all-time King highlights, "Bloodshot Eyes." For some whiskey-soaked R&B nostalgia, this fine collection is hard to beat.


Traducción Automática:
Revisión por Stephen Cook
Este primer volumen de la serie King's Battle of the Blues presenta dos de los actos más importantes del sello: Roy Brown y Wynonie Harris. Ya habiendo hecho sus nombres a finales de los años 40 como los mejores cantantes de blues en el circuito de R&B y jump blues, ambos cantantes emigraron a Cincinnati de forma independiente y alcanzaron niveles aún más elevados. Brown ocupa el primer lado con siete lados de sus voces animadas y de gospel, incluido el clásico "Boogie at Midnight". Por su parte, Harris se complace con sus cuerdas vocales más ásperas para una actualización de su gran éxito, el "Good Rockin 'Tonight" escrito por Brown y uno de sus momentos más destacados de King, "Bloodshot Eyes". Para un poco de nostalgia de R&B empapada en whisky, esta excelente colección es difícil de superar.

Discogs ...

Side 1 [Roy Brown]
01. Boogie At Midnight
02. Big Town
03. Bar Room Blues
04. Love Don't Love Nobody
05. Miss Fanny Brown
06. Lolly Pop Mama
07. I've Got The Last Laugh Now

Side 2 [Wynonie Harris]
01. Bloodshot Eyes
02. Good Rockin' Tonight
03. Loving Machine
04. Shake That Thing
05. I Feel That Old Age Coming On
06. All She Wants To Do Is Rock
07. Good Morning Judge
MORE Wynonie Harris ...

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario