egroj world: Grant Green • Organ Trio And Quartet

sábado, 13 de enero de 2018

Grant Green • Organ Trio And Quartet

Review by Thom Jurek
Organ Trio & Quartet is an unusually dodgy compilation on Groovehut that assembles a very random selection of Grant Green sides from his later career not only as a leader but as a sideman. Those being introduced to Green should avoid this because it lacks continuity and does not represent the true quality of the player (which is not to say that a lot of what is here isn't good), and those veterans and longtime fans have everything here assembled better in other places. This is just a grab for your buck.

1 Dig A Little Deeper    
2 We Don't Know    
3 Caramu    
4 Ruby    
5 Gigi Blues    
6 Space Flight    
7 Mad Lad    
8 Funky Blues    
9 Big Willis    
10 My Babe    
11 Iron City    
12 Samba De Orpheus    
13 Old Man Moses    
14 High Heeled Sneakers    
15 Motherless Child    
16 Work Song    

    Bass – Willie Dixon (tracks: 1-10)
    Drums – Willie Dixon (tracks: 11-16), Chauncey Williams (tracks: 1-10)
    Guitar – Grant Green (tracks: 1-16)
    Organ – Big John Patton (tracks: 11-16), Sam Lazar (tracks: 1-10)

Two for one release, comprising "Space Flight" from 1960 (tracks 1-10) and "Iron City" from 1967 (tracks 11-16).

Label: Groove Hut Records ‎– GH 66701
Released: 2007
Genre: Jazz
Style: Hard Bop

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

1 comentario: