egroj world: Stuff Smith • The Complete Verve Stuff Smith Sessions Vol.1

lunes, 30 de octubre de 2017

Stuff Smith • The Complete Verve Stuff Smith Sessions Vol.1

It is a shame that Stuff Smith did not live to see the revival of interest in swing violin due to his premature death in 1967, almost three decades prior to the passing of fellow violinist Stephane Grappelli. Almost all of Smith's recordings languished out of print until a two-CD set finally appeared on Verve, soon followed by this more complete four-CD Mosaic collection of Smith's recordings for the label, which adds three completely unissued sessions and five additional previously unreleased tracks.
The first two studio dates were scheduled for release but never put out by Verve, yet the music is simply astonishing. Smith is in top form throughout all ten sessions. The supporting cast is tremendous: pianists include Jimmy Jones, Carl Perkins, Oscar Peterson, Wynton Kelly, Shirley Horn (who was overlooked and credit was originally given to John Eaton, who likely appears on two tracks), and Paul Smith. Bassists include Red Callendar, Curtis Counce, Ray Brown, Red Mitchell, and Milt Hinton; other important musicians are Dizzy Gillespie, Barney Kessel, Alvin Stoller, J. C. Heard, Kenny Burrell, and fellow violinist Ray Nance. Smith plays quite a few enjoyable originals (including his blazing "Hillcrest," the very catchy "Calypso," and the exotic "Desert Sands"), but he also covers an extensive collection of Gershwin songs and other standards from some of the best composers of the Great American Songbook, and classic songs from the playbooks of Duke Ellington and Fletcher Henderson. While some tracks are clearly stronger performances than others, there is not one song that won't be devoured eagerly by fans of Smith's swinging jazz violin.

Disc 1 of 4
01. Hillcrest (3:42)
02. The Blues I Know (5:31)
03. Skip It (4:05)
04. Uh Ruh (3:32)
05. My Thoughts (3:44)
06. Live And You"ll Learn (4:52)
07. Night Falls Again (5:35)
08. Minuet In Swing (3:02)
09. Midway (4:01)
10. I Lost My Heart By The River (5:48)
11. Won"t You Take A Lesson In Love? (4:13)
12. What I Say (4:37)
13. It"s Wonderful (4:03)
14. Coming Through The Rye (2:43)
15. Ja-Da (4:01)

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario