egroj world: Billy Strayhorn & Johnny Hodges • Stanley Dance Session

miércoles, 14 de noviembre de 2018

Billy Strayhorn & Johnny Hodges • Stanley Dance Session

Some rare non-Ellington material from Billy Strayhorn and Johnny Hodges -- both sessions recorded as part of a series done by producer Stanley Dance at the end of the 50s! The feel here is a almost a bit more open and less restrained than the usual Ellington groove -- with some standout longer tracks, plus a number of more familiar numbers crafted in that rich Strayhorn love of colors and tones -- all topped with beautiful solo work by Johnny Hodges.

Amazon ...

01. Cue's Blue Now
02. Gone with the wind
03. Cherry
04. Watch your Cue
05. You brought a New Kind of Love to Me
06. When I Dream of You
07. Rose Room
08. Don't Get around Much Anymore
09. I Got it Bad
10. Gal from Joe's
11. Your Love has Faded
12. I'm Just a Lucky so-and-so
13. Jeep's Blues
14. Day Dream
15. Juice A-Plenty
16. Azure
17. Taylor Made
18. Star Dust

Total Time: 77:43 min.

Personnel on tracks #1-7:
Harold "Shorty" Baker (tp); Quentin Jackson (tb); Johnny Hodges (as); Russell (Procope (cl); Billy Strayhorn (p); Al Hall (b); Oliver Jackson (d).
Recorded in NYC, April 14, 1959.

Personnel on tracks #8-18:
Cat Anderson, Bill Berry, Howard McGhee, Ed Mullens, Harold "Shorty" Baker (tp); Lawrence Brown, Quentin Jackson (tb); Chuck Connors (b-tb); Johnny Hodges (as); Russell (Procope (as, cl); Jimmy Hamilton (ts,cl); Paul Gonsalves (ts); Harry Carney (bs, b-cl); Jimmy Jones (p), Aaron Bell (b); Sam Woodyard (d), Billy Strayhorn (cond, arr).
Recorded in NJ, December 11-12, 1961.

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario