egroj world: Melvin Rhyne • The Legend
PW: egroj

viernes, 23 de febrero de 2018

Melvin Rhyne • The Legend

Other than an obscure date for Jazzland in 1960, this record was organist Melvin Rhyne's debut as a leader. Famous for his association with Wes Montgomery but in obscurity ever since in Milwaukee, Rhyne gradually emerged during the late '80s and was found to still be in prime form. Joined by guitarist Peter Bernstein and drummer Kenny Washington, Rhyne had the rare opportunity of being the center of attention on this set, which includes a variety of standards (such as "Groovin' High," "Old Folks" and "Stompin' at the Savoy") plus Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis' "Licks A-Plenty" and Montgomery's "The Trick Bag." The easily recommended record concludes with a lengthy "Blues for Wes," which finds trumpeter Brian Lynch and tenor saxophonist Don Braden making the group a quintet. / By Scott Yanow (AMG)

01. Licks-A-Plenty 6:51 (Davis)
02. Serenata 9:50 (Anderson)
03. Stompin' At The Savoy 5:56 (Goodman, Razaf, Sampson, Webb)
04. The Trick Bag 5:35 (Montgomery)
05. Old Folks 8:34 (Hill, Robison)
06. Next Time You See Me 6:56 (Forest, Harvey, Harvey)
07. Groovin' High 5:42 (Gillespie)
08. Blues For Wes 12:42 (Rhyne)

Personnel & Credits:
Melvin Rhyne, Organ
Peter Bernstein, Guitar
Kenny Washington, Drums
Don Braden (tenor sax) and Brian Lynch (trumpet) on 'Blues For Wes'
Lora Rosner, Liner Notes
Gerry Teekens Producer, Photography, Cover Design, Cover Photo
Max Bolleman Engineer

(Criss Cross Records, 1994)
Catalog # 1059

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario