PW: egroj

martes, 25 de septiembre de 2018

Gene Harris • Alley Cats Concord Record

Review by Alex Henderson:
Too many artists have gone their entire careers without providing any live albums, but that hasn't been a problem for Gene Harris whose live recordings from the 1980s and 1990s ranged from unaccompanied solo piano to big-band dates. Arguably, the best live album he gave listeners in the 1990s was Alley Cats; recorded live at Jazz Alley in Seattle on December 11-12, 1998, this CD finds Harris' working quintet (Harris on piano, Frank Potenza on guitar, Luther Hughes on bass, and Paul Kreibich on drums) joined by such accomplished soloists as Red Holloway (tenor sax), Ernie Watts (alto and tenor sax), and Jack McDuff (organ). Many inspired moments occur, and a 65-year-old Harris really goes that extra mile on gems ranging from Nat Adderley's "Jive Samba" and Benny Golson's "Blues March" to Joe Sample's "Put It Where You Want It" (which, in the 1970s, was introduced by the Crusaders before being covered by the Average White Band). A talented but underexposed singer (underexposed in the 1990s, anyway) who has recorded R&B albums but is quite capable of handling jazz, Harris' daughter Niki Harris is featured on earthy performances of "You've Changed," "Please Send Me Someone to Love," and "Guess Who." McDuff, meanwhile, brings his gritty, down-home Hammond B-3 to two songs: Eddie Harris' "Listen Here" and Gene Harris' "Walkin' With Zach." Soul-jazz enthusiasts will definitely want this excellent CD.


Traducción Automática:
Reseña por Alex Henderson:Demasiados artistas han pasado toda su carrera sin proporcionar ningún álbum en vivo, pero eso no ha sido un problema para Gene Harris cuyas grabaciones en vivo de los años 80 y 90 variaron desde el solo de piano sin acompañante hasta las fechas de la gran banda. Podría decirse que el mejor álbum en vivo que dio a los oyentes en la década de 1990 fue Alley Cats; grabado en vivo en Jazz Alley en Seattle del 11 al 12 de diciembre de 1998, este CD encuentra al quinteto de Harris (Harris al piano, Frank Potenza a la guitarra, Luther Hughes al bajo y Paul Kreibich a la batería) junto a solistas tan talentosos como Red Holloway (saxo tenor), Ernie Watts (saxo alto y tenor) y Jack McDuff (órgano). Muchos momentos inspirados ocurren, y Harris, de 65 años, realmente hace un esfuerzo adicional en gemas que van desde "Jive Samba" de Nat Adderley y "Blues March" de Benny Golson hasta "Put It Where You Want It" de Joe Sample (que, en la década de 1970, fue introducida por los Cruzados antes de ser cubierta por la Banda Blanca Promedio). Un cantante talentoso pero poco expuesto (subexpuesto en la década de 1990, de todos modos) que ha grabado discos de R & B pero es bastante capaz de tocar jazz, la hija de Harris, Niki Harris, aparece en las actuaciones terrenales de "You've Changed", "Please Send Me Someone to Amor, "y" Adivina quién ". Mientras tanto, McDuff trae a Hammond B-3, su áspero y casero, a dos canciones: "Listen Here" de Eddie Harris y "Walkin 'With Zach" de Gene Harris. Los entusiastas del soul-jazz definitivamente querrán este excelente CD.
Gene Harris Quartet: Gene Harris (piano); Frank Potenza (guitar); Luther Hughes (bass); Paul Kreibich (drums).Additional personnel: Niki Harris (vocals); Ernie Watts (alto saxophone); Red Holloway (tenor saxophone); Brother Jack McDuff (Hammond B-3 organ).Recorded live at Jazz Alley, Seattle, Washington on December 11 & 12, 1998.

 iTunes ...

1. Put It Where You Want It
2. Magic Lady
3. Blues March
4. Bird's Idea
5. Walkin' With Zach
6. Jive Samba
7. You've Changed
8. Guess Who
9. Listen Here
10. Please Send Me Someone To Love

MORE Gene Harris ...

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

2 comentarios: