egroj world: Brother Jack McDuff •‎ Legends Of Acid Jazz

sábado, 11 de noviembre de 2017

Brother Jack McDuff •‎ Legends Of Acid Jazz

Review by Richie Unterberger
While these 12 selections were originally released on six different albums between 1965 and 1969, all of them were cut during July 1964: nine at a New York studio session, and three (embellished by Benny Golson big-band arrangements) live at Stockholm. Thus it makes for a thematically coherent compilation, every track featuring a young George Benson on guitar and Joe Dukes on drums; Red Holloway plays tenor sax on all but two songs. It's top-drawer soul-jazz, recommended to those who might find some of McDuff's other releases too homogenous, as his B-3 travels through diverse moods here: the uptempo blues of "Scufflin'," the slow-burning funk of "Our Miss Brooks," R&B/soul in the cover of "I Got a Woman." The closing "Lexington Avenue Line" is the oddest track, though quite a good one, sounding like a movie soundtrack theme with its dramatic strings.

1. Brother Jack
2. Mr. Wonderful
3. Noon Train
4. Drowsy
5. Organ Grinder's Swing
6. Mack 'N' Duff
7. You're Driving Me Crazy
8. Light Blues
9. Godiva Brown
10. Goodnight, It's Time To Go
11. Sanctified Waltz
12. McDuff Speaking
13. A Smooth One
14. I'll Be Seeing You

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario