egroj world: A. K. Salim • Savoy Recordings

viernes, 24 de agosto de 2018

A. K. Salim • Savoy Recordings

A.K. Salim (Ahmad Khatab Atkinson) was an ex-reed man who retired from playing in 1943 to arrange and compose for several jazz and Afro- Cuban bands. This 2-CD set draws together all the recordings he did as a leader for Savoy Records in 1957-1958. Most of his work here reflects Salim’s deep knowledge of blues and his arranger’s talent for setting down relatively simple lines combining down home traditionalism with harmonic sophistication. His unpretentious arrangements have an unmistakably visceral quality and offer a fine framework for the eloquently powerful soloists of both reed and brass sections.
Some of the greatest modern jazz pianists, bassists and drummers round out the rhythm, along with guitar in a few tracks, in both support and solo capacities, while the presence of a conga blends well with the Latino-flavored charts in what is, overall, a satisfying and thoroughly swinging collection.

Tracks:Cd. 1
1 Duo-Flautists 2:45
2 Miltown Blues 7:20
3 Ballin’ Blues 3:23
4 Pretty Baby 4:57
5 Lopin’ 2:51
6 Talk That Talk 4:11
7 Black Talk 3:38
8 D Minor Dipper 5:16
9 Dejeuner 6:20
10 A Private Cloud 4:40
11 June Is Bustin’ Out All Over 3:07
12 Blu-Binsky 6:12
13 R.U.1.2. 8:00
All Compositions by A. K. Salim,
except # 11 by Rodgers-Hammerstein II

Cd. 2
1 Shirley Ray 6:03
2 Ba-Lu-Ee-Du 5:48
3 Pretty For The People 8:05
4 Takin’ Care Of Business 5:24
5 Pay Day 3:55
6 Joy Box 6:03
7 Full Moon 5:11
8 Blue Baby 3:36
9 The Sultan 4:24
10 Blue Shout 3:23
11 Dikie How Long Baby 4:59
All Compositions by A. K. Salim

Músicos: A. K. Salim (director, arreglista) Joe Wilder, Johnny Coles, Jimmy Nottingham y Kenny Dorham (trompetas); Nat Adderley (corneta); Frank Rehak o Buster Cooper (trombón); Marshall Royal o Phil Woods (saxo alto); Frank Wess y Herbie Mann (flauta y saxo tenor); Johnny Griffin (saxo tenor); Howard Austin, Charlie Fowlkes, Pepper Adams o Sahib Shihab (saxo barítono); Kenny Burrell (guitarra); Hank Jones, Tommy Flanagan o Wynton Kelly (piano); Wendell Marshall, George Duvivier o Paul Chambers (contrabajo); Bobby Donaldson, Osie Johnson, Max Roach o Wilbur Hogan (batería); Chino Pozo (conga)
Recorded in Hackensack, New Jersey between 1957 & 1958.

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario