egroj world: George Benson • It's Uptown

miércoles, 20 de junio de 2018

George Benson • It's Uptown

It's Uptown remains a germinal jazz guitar album. Benson's guitar playing is drenched in bebop, but also strongly influenced by R&B and soul music, as is his quartet's sound overall. And the three vocal cuts -- "Summertime," "A Foggy Day," "Stormy Weather" -- foretell Benson's success as an R&B and pop singer. Lonnie Smith's organ and Ronnie Cuber's baritone sax provide the group with an unmistakable signature sound, perhaps dated at first blush, but timeless in actuality.

Amazon ...

01. Clockwise (4:30)      
02. Summertime (2:27)      
03. Ain't That Peculiar (3:00)
04. Jaguar (2:55)
05. Willow Weep For Me (7:46)     
06. A Foggy Day (2:42)
07. Hello Birdie (4:03)
08. Bullfight (3:50)  
09. Stormy Weather (2:21) 
10. Eternally (4:07)
11. Myna Bird Blues (4:35)

Vocals, Guitar - George Benson
Drums - Jimmy Lovelace
Organ - Lonnie Smith
Saxophone [Baritone] - Ronnie Cuber

January - March 1966, New York
Producer - John Hammond

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

2 comentarios:

  1. Una conexión interesante entre George Benson y Lonnie Smith en el órgano, soy muy curioso y digo nuevamente: ¡Gracias!

    1. Espero disfrutes este buen disco, gracias por comentar, saludos