egroj world: Herbie Hancock • Blow-Up

domingo, 5 de noviembre de 2017

Herbie Hancock • Blow-Up

A young Herbie Hancock contributed the bulk of the score to Michelangelo Antonioni's 1966 screen classic, evoking the ambience of swinging London with grooves that create effective bluesy moods on the slow pieces, and funky ones on the up-tempo tracks. Rock fans remember the film and the soundtrack for the inclusion of a rare Yardbirds number, "Stroll On" (actually, an adaptation of "The Train Kept A-Rollin'"), one of only three songs they recorded with both Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page on guitars. That cut is also included (although it's also been reissued elsewhere).

Blow-Up is a soundtrack album by Herbie Hancock featuring music composed for Michelangelo Antonioni's film Blow-Up released in 1966 on MGM Records. The album features performances by Hancock, Freddie Hubbard, Joe Newman, Phil Woods, Joe Henderson, Jim Hall, Ron Carter, and Jack DeJohnette. Although Jimmy Smith is credited with playing organ on the album some sources claim it was Paul Griffin that was present at the recording sessions.
The album also includes "Stroll On", a rewrite of Tiny Bradshaw's "Train Kept A-Rollin'", by the Yardbirds featuring Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page. The liner notes release indicate that Hancock first recorded his score in London with British musicians, but rejected the results and re-recorded the music in New York with American jazz musicians. The bassline to "Bring Down the Birds" was sampled by Deee-Lite for their 1990 single "Groove is in the Heart."
A mono mix of this album (MGM E4447ST) features slightly longer versions of several songs.

Side A
1. Main Title – ”Blow Up”
2. Verushka Part I
3. Verushka Part II
4. The Naked Camera
5. Bring Down The Birds
6. Jane’s Theme

Side B
1. Stroll On (Jeff Beck / Chris Dreja / Jimmy Page / Keith Relf)
2. The Thief
3. The Kiss
4. Curiosity
5. Thomas Studies Photos
6. The Bed
7. End Title – Blow Up

All compositions by Herbie Hancock except as indicated

Herbie Hancock: piano, melodica
Freddie Hubbard: trumpet
Joe Newman: trumpet
Phil Woods: alto sax
Joe Henderson: tenor sax
Jimmy Smith: organ
possibly Paul Griffin: organ
Jim Hall: guitar
Ron Carter: bass
Jack DeJohnette: drums

Except track 7 performed by the Yardbirds
Jeff Beck: guitar
Jimmy Page: guitar
Keith Relf: harmonica, vocals
Jim McCarty: drums
Chris Dreja: bass

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario