egroj world: Claude Williams • Swing Time In New York

miércoles, 27 de septiembre de 2017

Claude Williams • Swing Time In New York

Claude "Fiddler" Williams (February 22, 1908 – April 26, 2004) was an American jazz violinist and guitarist.
Williams was born in Muskogee, Oklahoma, in 1908, and by 10 he had learned to play guitar, mandolin, banjo and cello. Upon hearing Joe Venuti play, he was inspired to take up the violin. In 1928, he moved to Kansas City and toured with Andy Kirk's territory band Twelve Clouds of Joy, which also included Mary Lou Williams, and further honed his musicianship by participating in jam sessions. Count Basie discovered him in Kansas City and later invited him to play rhythm guitar in his band. From the late 1960s, he often played with fellow Kansas City resident Jay McShann. From the 1980s, Williams performed on violin exclusively.
In 1997, Claude Williams was inducted into the Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame.
He died of pneumonia in Kansas City at age 96. He was the last surviving jazz musician to have recorded before 1930.
His memorabilia has been donated to the LaBudde Special Collections Department at the Miller Nichols Library at the University of Missouri-Kansas City. Full info ...

Review by Scott Yanow
Violinist Claude Williams, at the age of 86, shows that he is still in his musical prime during this quintet date with Bill Easley (who switches between tenor, clarinet and flute), pianist Sir Roland Hanna, bassist Earl May and drummer Joe Ascione. Williams was with both Andy Kirk and Count Basie shortly before they made it big but has spent most of his long career in Kansas City in obscurity. Fortunately he has made several worthy recordings in his later years and this is one of his best, a well-rounded set ranging in repertoire from one of the first songs he ever learned ("You've Got to See Your Mama Ev'ry Night or You Can't See Mama at All") to Ellington, Monk ("Straight No Chaser") and even Stevie Wonder ("You Are the Sunshine of My Life"). The emphasis is on swing and Claude Williams is heard near the peak of his powers.

Track Listings
1. Limehouse Blues
2. Laura
3. You've Got To See Your Mama Ev'ry Night Or You Can't See Mama At All
4. I've Got The World On A String
5. Mood Indigo
6. You Are The Sunshine Of My Life
7. Just You, Just Me
8. Mean To Me
9. Lester Leaps In
10. My Buddy
11. I Can't Give You Anything
12. Just Squeeze Me (But Please Don't Tease Me)
13. Straight, No Chaser
14. I Want You, I Need You

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.

2 comentarios:

  1. Hey me encanto este disco nunca había escuchado nada igual, tienes más sobre el artista (la pista 10 - My Buddy tiene problemas con la grabació.

    1. No es mi ripeo y lamentablemente en la red no pude encontrar otra version. :(