egroj world: Shirley Scott • Shirley's Sounds

jueves, 31 de agosto de 2017

Shirley Scott • Shirley's Sounds

Shirley Scott, the queen of jazz organ (fellow Philadelphian Jimmy Smith, a major influence, is, of course, the once and future king), began her reign during the late 1950s, the peak of the "soul-jazz" era. Almost all of the performances herein are taken from the May 1958 session for Prestige Records that was her first as a leader and yielded the LPs Great Scott! and Shirley's Sounds. With these two albums Scott (1934-2002) kicked off a lengthy relationship with Prestige. Though she let her feet do the bass-line walking when playing live, "Scottie" preferred to use a bassist when in the studio, and in George Duvivier she had one of the finest and most flexible. On these 16 vintage trio selections (Arthur Edgehill was her regular drummer), Scott's sophisticated swinging (and hard swing, as well--check out "Bye Bye Blackbird"), sustained bluesy grooves, and ability to elicit a variety of sounds from her instrument are but three reasons why she became one of Prestige's most popular artists.

There's a good reason why Scott's second album as a bandleader sounds very much like her first, Great Scott!, for both albums were cut at the same May 23, 1958, session. On Shirley's Sounds, Scott's again backed by the rhythm section of George Duvivier on bass (though George Tucker takes over the instrument for one number, "Bye Bye Blackbird") and Arthur Edgehill on drums. Like its predecessor, it's superior early organ jazz, full-sounding but streamlined owing to the trio format. Devoted entirely to outside compositions, the tracks capture both her virtuosic skill on the organ and her taste, squeezing the bluesiest inflections out of a standard like "Summertime." "(Back Home Again In) Indiana" is the cut that cooks the hardest, and blues colors are a big part of her interpretations of "Baby Won't You Please Come Home" and "I Can't See for Lookin'." ~ by Richie Unterberger

Shirley Scott - Organ
George Duvivier - Bass
George Tucker - Bass (#A4)
Arthur Edgehill - Drums

A1. It Could Happen To You {Johnny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen} (4:34)
A2. Summertime {George Gershwin, Dubose Heyward} (3:59)
A3. There Will Never Be Another You {Mack Gordon, Harry Warren} (3:22)
A4. Bye Bye Blackbird {Mort Dixon, Ray Henderson} (6:39)
B1. S'Posin' {Andy Razaf, Paul Denniker} (4:18)
B2. Baby Won't You Please Come Home {Charles Warfield, Clarence Williams} (4:03)
B3. [Back Home Again In] Indiana {Ballard MacDonald, James F. Hanley} (3:24)
B4. I Can't See For Lookin' {Dave Bartholomew} (4:12)

Total Time: 34:32

Recording Engineer - Rudy van Gelder
Recorded 23rd May (#A1-A3,B1-B3); 23rd October (#B4), 1958 and
8th April (#A4), 1960 at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario