egroj world: Grant Green • Idle Moments

viernes, 18 de agosto de 2017

Grant Green • Idle Moments

Review by Steve Huey
This languid, seductive gem may well be Grant Green's greatest moment on record. Right from the opening bars of the classic title cut, Idle Moments is immediately ingratiating and accessible, featuring some of Green's most stylish straight jazz playing. Whether he's running warm (pianist Duke Pearson's "Idle Moments"), cool (the Modern Jazz Quartet's "Django"), or a bit more up-tempo (Pearson's "Nomad," his own "Jean de Fleur"), Green treats the material with the graceful elegance that was the hallmark of his best hard bop sessions, and that quality achieves its fullest expression here. He's helped by an ensemble that, as a sextet, is slightly larger and fuller-sounding than usual, and there's plenty of room for solo explorations on the four extended pieces. Pearson's touch on the piano is typically warm, while two players best known on Blue Note for their modernist dates mellow out a bit -- the cool shimmer of Bobby Hutcherson's vibes is a marvelously effective addition to the atmosphere, while Joe Henderson plays with a husky, almost Ike Quebec-like breathiness. That cushion of support helps spur Green to some of the loveliest, most intimate performances of his career -- no matter what the tempo, it's as if his guitar is whispering secrets in your ear. It's especially true on the dreamy title track, though: a gorgeous, caressing, near-15-minute excursion that drifts softly along like a warm, starry summer night. Even more than the two-disc set The Complete Quartets With Sonny Clark, Idle Moments is the essential first Green purchase, and some of the finest guitar jazz of the hard bop era.

1. Idle Moments
2. Jean De Fleur
3. Jean De Fleur (Alternate Version)
4. Django
5. Django (Alternate Version)
6. Nomad

Grant Green (Guitar, Main Performer)
Al Harewood (Drums)
Bob Cranshaw (Bass)
Bobby Hutcherson (Vibraphone)
Duke Pearson (Liner Notes, Piano)
Joe Henderson (Sax Tenor)

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.

8 comentarios:

  1. pues se encuentra indicado arriba PW: egroj para todos los post

  2. Thank you for all this great music!

    PS: I found the password in a rather big typo on top of the page ;-) how can one miss that?

    1. No problem, but I would like everyone to read the welcome to the blog: D

  3. Hi, thank you for the post. I have found one another post here with so many available albums, this link:, but I only want one album, however in mp3 320kbps, called AM I BLUE? by Grant Green, can you share with me this one? I would be very Grateful if you can... I AM downloading Idle Moments now, thanks for share this masterpiece of the humanity with all. I AM from Brazil, my english is still in progress, thank you só much, bye.