egroj world: Jimmy Smith • Any Number Can Win

viernes, 28 de julio de 2017

Jimmy Smith • Any Number Can Win

Originally released on Verve (8552). Includes liner notes by Al Clarke. Digitally remastered using 22-bit technology by Suha Gur (Polygram Studios). With a fat, dynamics-busting horns and woodwinds section utterly transforming the standard sound of Jimmy Smith's trio, ANY NUMBER CAN WIN may bear more of a resemblance to Henry Mancini than to the rootsy grooves one has come to expect from Smith. Which is not to say that the disc doesn't swing; quite the opposite. Smith's Hammond organ sound is oozy enough to liquefy bones, and his powerful, syncopation-addicted right hand intensifies the effect. Guest musicians turn in fine performances, including guitarist Kenny Burrell and the 20 or so members that make up the larger ensemble. The mood of ANY NUMBER CAN WIN alternates from the finger-popping big band interlude of "You Came A Long Way From St. Louis," to slinky boogie-inducers like "The Ape Woman" and the title track (theme song from an MGM movie), ballads like "Georgia On My Mind" and cool electric blues like "The Sermon" and the cover of Ray Charles "What'd I Say?" While perhaps a bit too uber-groovy for jazz purists, those who are looking for instrumental a-go-gos in true swinging 60's style won't be disappointed in this release. One of Verve's most popular discs, recently re-issued on Verve By Request. This is part of Verve's By Request series. Recorded at Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey in July 1963. Personnel: Jimmy Smith (organ); Vincent Bell, Kenny Burrell, Billy Mure (guitar); Phil Woods (woodwinds, saxophone, alto saxophone); Seldon Powell, Budd Johnson (woodwinds, saxophone, tenor saxophone); Jerome Richardson (woodwinds, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Marvin Halladay (woodwinds, baritone saxophone); Marvin Holladay (saxophone); Bob Bushnell (trumpet, electric bass); James Sedlar, Joe Newman , Snooky Young, Jimmy Maxwell, Charlie Shavers (trumpet); Jimmy Cleveland, Kai Winding, Melba Liston, Paul Faulise (trombone); Bob Bushness (keyboards); Bob Richardson, Mel Lewis, Ed Shaughnessy, Bobby Donaldson, Herb Lovelle (drums); George Devens, Art Marotti, Doug Allan, Doug Allen (percussion). Liner Note Author: Al Clarke. Recording information: New York, NY (07/10/1963-07/29/1963); Van Gelder Recording Studio, Englewood, CA (07/10/1963-07/29/1963). Photographers: Murray Laden; Lee Friedlander. Arrangers: Claus Ogerman; Billy Byers. Personnel: Jimmy Smith (organ); Claus Ogerman, Billy Byers (arranger, conductor); Jimmy Maxwell, Joe Newman, James Sedlar, Charlie Shavers, Snooky Young (trumpet); Jimmy Cleveland, Paul Faulise, Melba Liston, Kai Winding (trombone); Jerry Dodgion, Marvin Hallady, Budd Johnson, Jerome Richardson, Seldon Powell, Phil Woods (woodwinds); Kenny Burrell, Vince Gambella, Billy Mure (guitar); Art Davis, George Duvivier, Milt Hinton (bass); Bob Bushnell (electric bass); Bobby Donaldson, Mel Lewis, Ed Shaughnessey (drums); Doug Allen, George Devens, Art Marotti (percussion).

Tracks:1 - You Came A Long Way From St. Louis
2 - The Ape Woman
3 - Georgia On My Mind
4 - G'Won Train
5 - Theme From Any Number Can Win
6 - What'd I Say
7 - The Sermon
8 - Ruby
9 - Tubs
10 - Blues For C.A.

release date 1963
duration 36:03

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario