egroj world: Gabor Szabo • The Sorcerer
PW: egroj

lunes, 5 de junio de 2017

Gabor Szabo • The Sorcerer

Review by Douglas Payne
Gabor Szabo's quintet featuring Jimmy Stewart was one of the guitarist's very best units. Live performances like this, recorded at Boston's Jazz Workshop, document some of the excitement the group stirred in 1967-1968. Included in the 1997 CD reissue are three excellent tracks ("Los Matadoros," "People," and "Corcovado") recorded at the same concert, which originally appeared on More Sorcery. The playing seems inspired, and the interplay within the group is something to behold -- even when performing lightweight tunes like "The Beat Goes On."

  1. "The Beat Goes On" (Sonny Bono) - 4:52
  2. "Little Boat (O Barquinho)" (Ronaldo Bôscoli, Roberto Menescal) - 4:23
  3. "Lou-Ise" (Jimmy Stewart) - 4:17
  4. "What Is This Thing Called Love?" (Cole Porter) - 5:18
  5. "Space" - 6:40
  6. "Stronger Than Us" (Francis Lai, Pierre Barough) - 4:13
  7. "Mizrab" - 6:58
  8. "Comin' Back" (Clyde Otis, Szabó) 1:56
  9. "Los Matadoros" - 12:09 Bonus track on CD reissue
  10. "People" (Jule Styne, Bob Merrill) - 5:18 Bonus track on CD reissue
  11. "Corcovado" (Antonio Carlos Jobim) - 3:22 Bonus track on CD reissue

Jazz Workshop, Boston: April 14-15, 1967

Gabor Szabo, Jimmy Stewart (g); Lajos "Louis" Kabok (b); Marty Morell (d); Hal Gordon (per).

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.

4 comentarios:

  1. Hello, good people!!!

    I'm on my way back into your old posts...

    And I'm surprised many posts...

    Just a treasure for my eyes and ears...


    Will - BRAZIL

  2. Many thanks - I didn't have this one.