egroj world: Etta James • The Very Best Of Etta James

martes, 27 de junio de 2017

Etta James • The Very Best Of Etta James

Review by Thom Jurek
Buyer beware: this is not nearly "the very best of Etta James"; the title of this addition to Sony Legacy's Playlist series is wildly misleading. James cut her best sides for Chess; that is the critical as well as the commercial view. In the late '90s and early part of the 21st century, she made a series of recordings for the Private Music and RCA imprints, and that's where the music on this 14-track set comes from -- including the version of "At Last" tacked on at the end, which is a live version from Burnin' Down the House. That is not to say that this music isn't worth hearing or isn't good; it's all quite good. One complaint is that her killer ballads album Love's Been Rough on Me is underrepresented here, but that's life. This set should be considered an adjunct to Etta James' Chess sides. If one has her true greatest hits already, this is a wonderful counterpart to fill out the portrait of the artist, but it is not what it claims to be.

1 Hound Dog
2 I'd Rather Go Blind
3 If I Had Any Pride Left at All
4 Somebody to Love
5 I've Been Lovin' You Too Long
6 Don't Let the Sun Catch You Crying
7 Spoonful
8 Cry Me a River
9 Stop on By
10 Come Rain or Come Shine
11 A Change Is Gonna Do Me Good
12 The Blues Is My Business
13 Something's Got a Hold on Me
14 At Last

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario