egroj world: The Real Thing • Back On Track
PW: egroj

miércoles, 10 de mayo de 2017

The Real Thing • Back On Track

The Real Thing (1992-1995) was a Soul Jazz Band from Oslo, Norway, founded in 1992 when Sigurd Køhn and Palle Wagnberg formed the forerunner, The B3 Blues Band with Vidar Busk and Hamlet Pedersen. They changed the name when Staffan William-Olsson and Fredrik Carl Stormer joined the band. Størmer was replaced by Torstein Ellingsen in 1995, and Ellingsen again by Børre Dalhaug in 1998. Due to the sudden death of the band's saxophonist Sigurd Køhn in December 2004 The Real Thing was hibernating until a reunion in 2010.
The quartet released eight albums, their debut in 1992 with the album The Real Thing and later both live and studio recordings. They for the most play original music, combining influences from American Blue Note jazz (represented by people such aslike Jimmy Smith, George Benson and Wes Montgomery) and elements from modern popular music. The result is a mixture of genres including swing, blues, soul, Latin, funk and rock.

01. Back On Track (2:20)
02. Silly Hat Walk (4:20)
03. Endless Stream (5:22)
04. Pickin' Chicken (4:49)
05. The Spring (5:13)
06. Olsson's Samba (4:35)
07. Pimblett's Pie (5:00)
08. Seemingly Unaffacted (4:35)
09. Minor Stretch (5:30)
10. New Swede Blues (5:42)
11. Do It Like That (3:36)
12. Wimbo (6:06)
    Paul Wagnberg - Hammond organ
    Staffan William-Olsson - guitar
    Torstein Ellingsen - drums
    Dave Edge - alto saxophone

This file is intended only for preview!
We ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario