egroj world: Silas Hogan • So Long Blues

lunes, 29 de mayo de 2017

Silas Hogan • So Long Blues

Silas Hogan (September 15, 1911 – January 9, 1994) was an American blues musician. Hogan most notably recorded "Airport Blues" and "Lonesome La La", was the front man of the Rhythm Ramblers, and became an inductee in the Louisiana Blues Hall of Fame.
Hogan learned guitar playing as a teenager and was performing on a regular basis by the late 1930s. Similar to Lazy Lester and Slim Harpo, Hogan was influenced by Jimmy Reed. He had relocated to Baton Rouge, Louisiana by the early 1950s, and equipped with a Fender electric guitar, Hogan put together the Rhythm Ramblers. They assisted in the development of the Baton Rouge Blues sound, and with band members Hogan (guitar), Isaiah Chapman (lead guitar), Jimmy Dotson (drums), plus Sylvester Buckley (harmonica), they stayed together for almost ten years.
In 1962, by which time he was aged 51, Hogan was belatedly introduced by Harpo to the Crowley, Louisiana based record producer, J. D. "Jay" Miller. Miller, via the offices of Excello Records, started Hogan's recording career, at a time when interest in variations of swamp blues was starting to wane. Hogan did nevertheless see the issue of several singles up to 1965, when Miller's disagreement with the record label's new owners brought the recording contract to a swift finale. On some of his recordings, Hogan was backed by the harmonica player, Moses "Whispering" Smith. Hogan had to disband the group, and returned to his full-time job at the Exxon oil refinery. In the late 1970s, Hogan recorded further tracks with both Arhoolie and Blue Horizon.
Hogan died in January 1994 of heart disease, at the age of 82.

1 I'm Gonna Quit You Pretty Baby
2 Trouble At Home Blues
3 You're Too Late Baby
4 Airport Blues
5 Go On Pretty Baby
6 Here They Are Again
7 Lonesome La La
8 Roamin' Woman Blues
9 I'm Goin' In The Valley
10 Everybody Needs Somebody
11 Just Give Me A Chance
12 Dark Cloud Rollin'
13 Early One Morning
14 I'm In Love With You Baby
15 More Trouble At Home
16 Sittin' Here A Wondering
17 So Glad
18 Every Saturday Night
19 Baby Please Come Back To Me
20 If I Ever Needed You Baby
21 Out And Down Blues
22 So Long Blues

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario