egroj world: Eddie 'Cleanhead' Vinson • Kidney Stew is Fine
PW: egroj

martes, 2 de mayo de 2017

Eddie 'Cleanhead' Vinson • Kidney Stew is Fine

Eddie Vinson was a blues shouter extraordinaire in the style of Big Joe Turner and Wynonie Harris. Always an outstanding alto saxophonist, Vinson played jazz and blues with equal vigor. The improvisational skills learned from his years as a jazz musician combined with his traditional vocal style helped him achieve the status of an American original. The occasion here finds Vinson teamed up with veteran jazz-blues musicians Jay McShann, Hall Singer and T-Bone Walker.
Although its programming has been juggled a bit, and the CD has been given liner notes, this Delmark release is a straight reissue of the original LP. Clocking in at around 38 minutes, the relatively brief set is the only recording that exists of Vinson, pianist Jay McShann, and guitarist T-Bone Walker playing together; the sextet is rounded out by the fine tenor Hal Singer, bassist Jackie Sampson, and drummer Paul Gunther. Vinson, whether singing "Plese Send Me Somebody to Love," "Just a Dream," and "Juice Head Baby" or taking boppish alto solos, is the main star throughout this album (originally on Black & Blue), a date that helped launch Vinson's commercial comeback.

1. Somebody Sure Has Got To Go
2. Old Kidney Stew Is Fine
3. Juice Head Baby
4. Wait A Minute Baby
5. I'm In An Awful Mood
6. Just A Dream
7. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
8. Old Maid Boogie
9. Wee Baby Blues
10. Please Send Me Someone To Love

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario