egroj world: The Challengers • Tidal Wave
PW: egroj

miércoles, 26 de abril de 2017

The Challengers • Tidal Wave

Review by Richie Unterberger
It's rare that a minor band such as The Challengers rates a package of the sort of alternate takes and rarities that you'll find on a Rolling Stones bootleg. That's what this 18-track compilation is, though. Half are alternate takes, five songs were previously unissued in any form, and three come from their rare 1965 LP, Surf's Up. This doesn't offer any radical redefinition of The Challengers' oeuvre, but it certainly doesn't suffer in comparison with their official vintage albums. In fact, you're about as well off with this compilation as any of their proper full-length recordings, and some tracks do burn, such as "Satan's Theme" and "Moovin' & Groovin'." Sound quality is excellent.

1 Satan's Theme (Aletrnate Take)     2:29
2 So What (Alternate Take)     2:20
3 Ramrod (Alternate Take)     1:54
4 Sunset Surfing (Previously Unissued)     3:06
5 Bedlam (Alternate Take)     2:28
6 Moovin' & Groovin' (Alternate Take)     2:10
7 Foot Patter (Alternate Take)     2:24
8 Man Of Mystery (From Vault LP "Oldies, Goodies & Woodies")     1:45
9 Mr. Rebel (Alternate Take)     2:22
10 Dance With The Guitar Man (Alternate Take)     2:52
11 Wild One (Previously Unissued)     1:55
12 Mr. Moto (Alternate Take)     2:11
13 Let's Go (Previously Unissued)     2:11
14 Dance On (Alternate Take)     2:32
15 Ross At Sunset (From Vault LP "Surf's Up")     2:18
16 Wonderful Land (Previously Unissued)     2:11
17 Theme From "The Adventures Of Delvy Mcnort" (From Vault LP "Surf's Up")     2:18
18 Channel Nine (From Vault LP "Surf's Up")

Label: Sundazed Music, Inc. ‎– SC 11024
Released: 1995
Genre: Rock
Style: Surf
Duration: 42:12
Recording Date: 1963 - 1965

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario