egroj world: Jimmy Smith • Standards

viernes, 31 de marzo de 2017

Jimmy Smith • Standards

Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Standards is a 12-track collection that is culled from the sessions that resulted in the House Party and Home Cookin' albums, both of which featured Jimmy Smith in a trio with guitarist Kenny Burrell and drummer Donald Bailey. All of the songs are familiar standards along the lines of "Bye Bye Blackbird," "I'm Just a Lucky So and So," "September Song," "Mood Indigo" and "It Might As Well Be Spring," and seven of the tracks are previously unreleased. Throughout the album, the trio is relaxed and laidback, resulting in a warm, inviting collection of standards. It's among Smith's mellowest recordings, and it's all the better for it.

Tracklist 1 Little Girl Blue
2 Bye Bye Blackbird
3 I'm Just A Lucky So And So
4 Ruby
5 September Song
6 I Didn't Know What Time It Was
7 Memories Of You
8 But Beautiful
9 Mood Indigo
10 While We're Young
11 It Might As Well Be Spring
12 The Last Dance

Drums – Donald Bailey
Guitar – Kenny Burrell
Organ – Jimmy Smith

Engineer: Rudy Van Gelder
Recorded on August 27, 1957 (#1), July 15, 1958 (#2-5) and May 24, 1959 (#6-12) at the Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey.

#1-5 originally issued on On The Sunny Side Of The Street (Blue Note LT-1092). All other selections are previously unissued.

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario