egroj world: Dr. Lonnie Smith • Too Damn Hot!

viernes, 24 de marzo de 2017

Dr. Lonnie Smith • Too Damn Hot!

Hammond B-3 boss Dr. Lonnie Smith ends up on yet another new label with Too Damn Hot!, the follow-up to his thoroughly enjoyable -- if curious -- Boogaloo to Beck outing from 2003. This studio set places the organist in the company of two fine guitarists -- Peter Bernstein (lead) and Rodney Jones (rhythm), and alternating drummers Greg Hutchinson and Fukushi Tainaka. The two-guitar format is lovely in that it presents a wide array of colors and harmonic textures to the proceedings. The material is a compendium of new soul-jazz originals like the title track, which is a sultry slow burner with killer chorded solos by Smith, and "The Whip," a slippery funky hard bopper that recalls Johnny Patton's sessions with Grant Green. There are two covers present here as well, a fine version of Horace Silver's ballad "Silver Serenade" and a whimsical read of "Someday My Prince Will Come." The album's final cut, "Evil Turn," cooks like mad in stunning bop fashion. This is a keeper and Smith's best record of the decade so far.

01. Norleans
02. Too Damn Hot
03. Back Track
04. The Whip
05. Silver Serenade
06. Track 9
07. One Cylinder
08. Someday My Prince Will Come
09. Your Mama's Got A Complex
10. Evil Turn

Dr. Lonnie Smith (Hammond B3, vocals)
Peter Bernstein (guitar)
Rodney Jones (guitar)
Greg Hutchinson (drums)
Fukushi Tainaka (drums)

2004 Palmetto Records / Release: 2004 / Time: 62:25 min

144 MB / mp3-320Kbps
 para la descarga clickear boton gris con la leyenda "Lassú letöltés"

MORE Dr. Lonnie Smith ...

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.

4 comentarios: