egroj world: Red Garland • Red Garland's Piano

lunes, 24 de octubre de 2016

Red Garland • Red Garland's Piano

Red Garland's third session as a leader finds the distinctive pianist investigating eight standards (including "Please Send Me Someone to Love," "Stompin' at the Savoy," "If I Were a Bell," and "Almost Like Being in Love") with his distinctive chord voicings, melodic but creative ideas, and solid sense of swing. Joined by bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Art Taylor, Garland plays up to his usual consistent level, making this an easily recommended disc for straight-ahead fans.

01. Please Send Me Someone to Love (Percy Mayfield) - 9:51
02. Stompin' at the Savoy (Benny Goodman, Andy Razaf, Edgar Sampson, Chick Webb) - 3:12
03. The Very Thought of You (Ray Noble) - 4:12
04. Almost Like Being in Love (Alan Jay Lerner, Frederick Loewe) - 4:52
05. If I Were a Bell (Frank Loesser) - 6:41
06. I Know Why (And So Do You) (Harry Warren, Mack Gordon) - 4:50
07. I Can't Give You Anything but Love (Dorothy Fields, Jimmy McHugh) - 5:05
08. But Not For Me (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) - 5:52.

Red Garland - piano
Paul Chambers - bass
Art Taylor - drums.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario