PW: egroj

miércoles, 24 de agosto de 2016

Howlin' Wolf • A Proper Introduction - Memphis Days

The single disc, 25-track Proper Introduction to Howlin' Wolf anthology traces, in condensed form, Howlin' Wolf's seminal recordings at Sun Studios in Memphis. While other compilations have focused on exhaustively presenting all of the recordings Wolf did for Sun and Chess, and other single discs have picked one label or the other, Proper has decided to combine them in an idiosyncratic and wonderfully listenable way. These cuts are not sequenced chronologically, and the material here is mixed between labels, offering a brilliant cross-section of the material he cut during his seminal early years in the 1950s. "Moanin' at Midnight" is here, as is "How Many More Years", but so are "Baby Ride With Me", "Oh Red", and "Saddle My Pony". In all, sound-wise and price-wise, this is a tough one to beat. /Thom Jurek, AllMusic

1. Moanin' At Midnight (2:59)
2. How Many More Years (2:45)
3. The Wolf Is At Your Door (3:02)
4. California Blues (3:00)
5. California Boogie (3:02)
6. Look-A-Here Baby (2:13)
7. Howlin' Wolf Boogie (2:41)
8. Smile At Me (2:09)
9. Getting Old And Gray (2:40)
10. Mr. Highway Man (2:51)
11. My Baby Walked Off (3:03)
12. Drinkin' C.V. Wine (3:10)
13. My Troubles And Me (3:20)
14. Chocolate Drop (2:42)
15. Everybody's In The Mood (3:02)
16. Color And Kind (3:14)
17. Bluebird (2:52)
18. Saddle My Pony (2:36)
19. Dorothy Mae (2:47)
20. Worried All The Time (3:10)
21. Sweet Woman (3:31)
22. Well That's Alright (3:05)
23. Decoration Day (3:19)
24. Oh! Red (2:48)
25. Stay Here Till My Baby Comes Back (2:38)

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario