PW: egroj

viernes, 15 de julio de 2016

Rhoda Scott + Kenny Clarke • Jazz In Paris

Review by Steve Leggett
Originally recorded in Paris at a pair of two-day sessions in 1977 and then released as a BarClay Records LP that same year, this fine duo set features the sturdy soul-jazz organ of Rhoda Scott paired with Kenny Clarke on drums, and together they create a remarkably full sound. It is worth noting that two of the best numbers here are Scott originals, "Bitter Street," which opens the album, and the funky "Toe Jam."

1 Bitter Street 3:29
2 Satin Doll 5:20
3 It's Impossible 6:09
4 Speak Low 5:45
5 Now's The Time 3:03
6 Out Of Nowhere 4:37
7 What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life 5:31
8 Toe Jam 3:22
9 On Green Dolphin Street 4:37

Drums – Kenny Clarke
Organ – Rhoda Scott
Recorded May 10 and 11, 1977 at the Hoche studio, Paris

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario