PW: egroj

lunes, 11 de julio de 2016

Jack Wilkins • Bluesin

Jack Wilkinsí new CD Bluesin' (String Jazz) marks the first time he has recorded as a leader in the always-popular "organ trio" format. After giving it a listen, my first question was, "What took him so long?!" This is a perfect fit.
Recorded in guitarist Andy MacKenzieís studio in Sale, England last year, Wilkins and producer Chris Burden enlisted Manchester based Hammond man Steve Wood and another local, drummer Tony Lawson for the session, Jack penned four of the albumís seven tunes, and it is partially his distinctive, somewhat quirky compositions which set this trio apart from the rest of the organ guitar pack.
"Vista" moves in and out of modal territory, finding contrast in both light and dark themes. Wood and Lawson establish and insistent, yet subtle symbiosis which gives Jack unfailing support for his extemporizations. "Awakened Sound" is a strong ballad statement which has Jack spacing its lyrical phrases with incredibly swift fills. Woodís organ solo is romantic and steamy.
They give the blues a twist with the recurrent dissonance of "No Smokin'," and Lawsonís "in the pocket" drumming belies the trackís emission-free title. "Mr. M.C.," another bluesy original, is also the discís no-holds-barred bebop flag waver, with Jack spitting out funky, horn-inspired phrases as only he can.
The non-Wilkinsí material includes a Latin-tinged "All or Nothing at All" and an inspired reading of that favored or organists and guitarists alike, "Old Folks."
For a change of pace, Jack picks up the electric nylon string for a run at Cole Porterís "I Concentrate on You." With Woodís organ purring faintly in the background, the tune is an unusual, but highly effective study in textures, allowing both players to advance and recede in the mix. The nylon stringed instrument inspires the guitarist to alter his approach, finding a voice somewhere between Django and Rio. Again, Lawsonís no-frills approach to the drum set fits the bill perfectly.
If you dig this disc (as I'm sure you will) there is some added good news. Enough material was recorded at this session for a second CD to be released within the next year!
- Jim Fisch, 20th Century Guitar Magazine

1. All Or Nothing At All
2. Vista
3. Awakened Sound
4. No Smokin'
5. Old Folks
6. I Concentrate On You
7. Mr M.C.

133 MB / 320 Kbps

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario