PW: egroj

domingo, 3 de julio de 2016

Howlin' Wolf • Memphis Days The Definitive Edition Vol. 2

Review by Cub Koda
The second volume in this series collects up all the known Memphis recordings that were either issued or originally offered to Chess. As such, it stands as a marvelous collection of Wolf's early 78s for that label. But what truly puts it over is the added bonus of a newly discovered acetate featuring several unissued versions of "How Many More Years" and "Baby Ride With Me (Riding in the Moonlight)." Much of this volume is pulled from discs, but the overall sound is good and the performances make it yet another must-have.

1 Baby Ride With Me
2 How Many More Years
3 Moanin' At Midnight
4 Howlin' Wolf Boogie
5 The Wolf Is At Your Door
6 Mr. Highway Man
7 Getting Old And Grey
8 Worried All The Time
9 Saddle My Pony
10 Oh, Red!
11 My Last Affair
12 Come Back Home (Take 2)
13 Dorothy Mae
14 Oh Red (Take 2)
15 Come Back Home (Take 3)
16 Home Many More Years
17 How Many More Years
18 Baby Ride With Me
19 Baby Ride With Me

Sello: Bear Family Records ‎– BCD 15460
Formato: CD, Compilation
País: Germany
Fecha: 1989
Género: Blues
Estilo: Electric Blues, Memphis Blues

Original Chess & Phillips Recordings.
Most of the repertoire on this collection was dubbed from acetate or disc source resulting in an unavoidable level of surface noise. Many of the original master tapes have been lost.

Wolf • Memphis Days The Definitive Edition Vol. 1

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario