PW: egroj

jueves, 21 de julio de 2016

Hampton Hawes • Everybody Likes Hampton Hawes - The Trio, vol. 3

Review by Scott Yanow
The third of three Hampton Hawes trio dates with bassist Red Mitchell and drummer Chuck Thompson  is on the same high level as his first two. Hawes introduces his "Coolin' the Blues" and "The Sermon," digs into eight standards (including "Somebody Loves Me," "Night In Tunisia" and "Billy Boy") and comes up with consistently creative ideas throughout this swinging bop date.

Somebody Loves Me
The Sermon
Embraceable You
I Remember You
A Night In Tunisia
Lover Come Back To Me
Polka Dots And Moonbeams
Billy Boy
Body And Soul
Coolin' The Blues

Hampton Hawes (p)
Red Mitchell (b)
Chuck Thompson (d)
Los Angeles, CA, January 25, 1956

Duration 43:42

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario