PW: egroj

martes, 31 de mayo de 2016

Stephane Grappelli • Live At Corby Festival Hall

Stephane Grappelli recorded frequently during the last three decades of his life and previously unissued recordings like this 1975 concert at Corby Festival Hall have continued to turn up. On this occasion the violinist is accompanied by lead guitarist Diz Disley, rhythm guitarist Ike Isaacs and bassist David Moses. The set is fairly typical, concentrating on standards from the 1920s through the 1940s, starting with a chugging but brisk take of "I Can't Believe That You're in Love With Me." The marvelous duet by Grappelli and Disley of "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes," Grappelli's inventive treatment of "(Back Home Again In) Indiana" and the crowd-pleasing "Sweet Georgia Brown" are among the highlights. It is simply amazing that Stephane Grappelli never seemed to go on autopilot as he played a song for the hundredth (or possibly thousandth) time; this CD is a valuable addition to his already vast discography.

1. I Can't Believe That You're In Love With Me 3:55
2. This Can't Be Love 4:26
3. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes 3:09
4. I Can't Give You Anything But Love 4:00
5. Satin Doll 5:40
6. Tea For Two 4:33
7. Manoit De Me Reves/Daphne 5:44
8. Gershwin Medley: S'Wonderful, Summertime, Someone To Watch Over Me, I Got Rhythm 10:42
9. Indiana 3:40
10. Walkin' My Baby Back Home 6:19
11. The Nearness Of You 4:22
12. The Birth Of The Blues 6:57
13. Limehouse Blues 3:36
14. Old Man River 4:53
15. Sweet Georgia Brown 2:45
16. After You've Gone 3:41

Stephane Grappelli - violin
Diz Disley - guitar
Ike Isaacs - guitar
Dave Moses - bass

Year: 1975 / Total Time: 01:18:25

179 MB / 320 Kbps

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario