PW: egroj

jueves, 5 de mayo de 2016

Lightnin' Slim • Nothin' But The Devil

Review by Bruce Eder
This 24-song collection undoubtedly overlaps with some of the U.S.-issued Excello material -- including the same alternate takes of "Rooster Blues" and "It's Mighty Crazy" -- but there's just enough that they don't share to make this worth a look, if not a purchase, by owners of the U.S. material. The sound, as is usual with Ace, is excellent, and the stuff is worthy of inclusion with the best of Slim's work. Among the best tracks here are two outtakes unique to this set at this time, "I'm Leavin' You Baby," on which Slim steps over into Howlin' Wolf territory ("Moanin' at Midnight," etc.), and "Sweet Little Woman," where he crosses swords with Sonny Boy Williamson II.

01. Long Leanie Mama (2:11)
02. My Starter Won't Work (Alt Take) (2:47)
03. It's Mighty Crazy (Alt Take) (2:35)
04. Blues At Night (2:47)
05. I'm Leaving You Baby (Alt Take) (2:33)
06. Feelin' Awful Blue (3:00)
07. Sweet Little Woman (Alt Take) (2:09)
08. Lightnin's Troubles (2:57)
09. I Gonna Leave (3:05)
10. Rooster Blues (Alt Take) (2:44)
11. G.I. Slim (2:29)
12. Driftin' Blues (2:45)
13. Too Close Blues (2:01)
14. My Little Angel Child (2:46)
15. Greyhound Blues (2:49)
16. I Just Don't Know (2:16)
17. Somebody Knockin' (3:08)
18. Just A Lonely Stranger (2:54)
19. Cool Down Baby (2:17)
20. Nothin' But The Devil (3:02)
21. Goin' Away Blues (2:58)
22. I'm Tired Waitin' Baby (2:50)
23. Death Valley Blues (2:59)
24. Hello Mary Lee (2:45)

124 MB / mp3-320Kbps

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario