egroj world: Clifton Chenier • King of the Bayous

lunes, 11 de enero de 2016

Clifton Chenier • King of the Bayous

Review by Stephen Cook
After gaining initial notoriety in the '50s and '60s on Specialty Records and a variety of small Texas and Louisiana labels, Zydeco King Clifton Chenier brought the blues-fueled Cajun music he practically invented to Chris Strachwitz's roots label Arhoolie, subsequently recording a series of fine albums including 1970's King of the Bayous. Featuring brother and longtime partner Cleveland Chenier on rubboard, Robert St. Judy on drums, Joe Morris on bass and Antoine Victor on guitar, King of the Bayous includes Chenier's standard blend of zydeco two-step, waltzes and blues, and provides an excellent taste of what the band no doubt played on countless one-niters along the Louisiana-Texas Gulf Coast. Zydeco-brand blues predominates with Chenier originals "Hard to Love Someone," "Who Can Your Good Man Be" and "I Am Coming Home," in addition to a cover of the honky-tonk weeper "Release Me." Offering a contrast to the blues and something for the dancers, the band lays down a lively two-step beat on "Tu Le Ton Son Ton," "Josephine Par Se Ma Femme" and "Zodico Two Step." Throughout the varied set, Chenier's irrepressible vocals and accordion playing stand out. A nice sample of bayou zydeco by one of its finest and most original practitioners.

A1 Tu Le Ton Son Ton 3:35
A2 Hard To Love Someone 3:15
A3 Who Can Your Good Man Be 3:35
A4 Zodico Two Step 3:15
A5 Going La Maison 3:30
A6 I Believe I'll Go Back Home 3:15
B1 Release Me 3:55
B2 Big Mamou 3:15
B3 Ton Na Na 3:00
B4 I Am Coming Home 3:10
B5 Josephine Par Se Ma Femme 3:00
B6 It's Christmas Time 4:05

Bass – Joe Morris (4)
Drums – Robert St. Judy
Engineer – Doyle E. Jones* (tracks: A1 to A6)
Guitar – Antoine Victor (tracks: A1 to A6), Raymond Monett (tracks: B1 to B6)
Piano – Elmore Nixon (tracks: B1 to B6)
Producer – Chris Strachwitz
Vocals, Accordion – Clifton Chenier
Washboard [Rubboard] – Cleveland Chenier
Written-By – C. Chenier* (tracks: A1 to A6, B2 to B6)

Label: Arhoolie Records ‎– AR 19020
Released: 1970

2 comentarios:

  1. I had so much fun today with all the Cheniers you shared. Thank you for so much joy!

    1. I'm glad you can enjoy what is offered on the blog, Thanks for commenting