egroj world: Shakey Jake Harris • Further On Up The Road
PW: egroj

jueves, 1 de febrero de 2018

Shakey Jake Harris • Further On Up The Road

Born James D. Harris, 12 April 1921, Earle, Arkansas, USA, d. 2 March 1990, Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA. A professional gambler when not playing harmonica (his nickname was derived from the crapshooters' call "Shake 'em, Jake", Harris began playing in Chicago blues bands during the late 40s. His 1958 single "Call Me If You Need Me"/"Roll Your Moneymaker", recorded for the Artistic subsidiary of Cobra Records, featured guitar work by his nephew Magic Sam. During the 60s he recorded two albums that did not do him justice, as club recordings with Sam make evident. His encouragement of younger musicians brought about the recording debut of, among others, Luther Allison, with whom Jake recorded his best album after moving to Los Angeles. In later years, occasional recordings appeared, including some on his own label, and Harris ran a blues club for a while, but was dogged by poor health and isolated by neighborhood gang violence.

1 Everything Gonna Be Alright
2 Hold That Bus, Conductor
3 Respect Me Baby
4 I Will Always Love You
5 Strollin' On The Strip
6 Three Times Seven
7 Further On Up The Road
8 A Hard Road To Travel
9 Save Your Money Baby
10 Too Hot To Hold
11 Long Distance Call

Lead Vocals – Shakey Jake Harris
Bass – Robert Mojo Elem
Blues Harp – Kenny Courtney (tracks: 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 11 ), Shakey Jake Harris (tracks: 3, 10)
Drums – Francis Clay
Guitar – Luther Allison
Percussion – Denny Bruce (tracks: 9), Steve Cummins (tracks: 9)
Piano – John Mayall (tracks: 1, 6, 7, 10), Sunnyland Slim (tracks: 2,3,4,5,8,9,11)

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

2 comentarios: