egroj world: Lorraine Geller • Memorial
PW: egroj

miércoles, 8 de noviembre de 2017

Lorraine Geller • Memorial

A talented and very promising bop pianist, Lorraine Geller's life was cut short by an unexpected heart ailment (which had no connection to drugs). Early on she played with the all-female big band the Sweethearts of Rhythm (1949-51). After marrying altoist Herb Geller in 1951, she moved to Los Angeles. During the next seven years she played with the who's who of West Coast jazz and bop including Shorty Rogers, Zoot Sims, Stan Getz, Red Mitchell and even Charlie Parker and Dizzy Gillespie. Geller also worked as Kay Starr's accompanist in 1957 and appeared at the first Monterey Jazz Festival.
In 1958, just a month before her sudden death. Lorraine Geller, who had a great deal of unfulfilled potential, recorded three albums with her husband for EmArcy, a few titles with him for Imperial, a Red Mitchell record and made a trio set of her own for Dot in 1954.
-by Scott Yanow (AMG).

1. It's Swell Of You (Gordon-Ravel)
2. Everything I've Got Belongs To You
3. Mad About The Boy (N.Coward)
4. I Feel Like A Feather In The Breeze
Recorded in Los Angeles, 1954

5. Clash By Night (L.Geller)
6. Close Your Eyes (B.Petkere)
7. Mystery Theatre (L.Geller)
8. The Blue Room (Rodgers-Hart)
9. Everybody's Blues (L.Geller)
10. Madam X (L.Geller)
11. Gee, Baby, Ain't I Good To You?
(Don Redman)
12. You And The Night And The Music
13. Poinciana (Simon-Bemier)
14. What A Diference A Day Made (Grever-Adams)
Recorded in Los Angeles, 1954

15. It's All Right With Me (Cole Porter)
16. I Thought Of You (Red Mitchell)
17. Paul's Pal (Sonny Rollins)
Recorded in Los Angeles, 1957

Alto Saxophone – Herb Geller (tracks: 1 to 4)
Bass – John Simmons (tracks: 1 to 4), Leroy Vinnegar (tracks: 5 to 14), Red Mitchell (tracks: 15 to 17)
Drums – Eldridge "Buzz" Freeman* (tracks: 5 to 14), Frank Capp (tracks: 15 to 17), Roy Harte (tracks: 1 to 4)
Tenor Saxophone, Flute – James Clay (tracks: 15 to 17)
Piano – Lorraine Geller

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario