egroj world: Herb Ellis ‎• Roll Call
PW: egroj

miércoles, 8 de noviembre de 2017

Herb Ellis ‎• Roll Call

"Herb Ellis' first full set as a leader since leaving the Concord label (where he had been during 1973-88) finds him in inspired form. The veteran guitarist is heard in a trio with the recently rediscovered organist Mel Rhyne and drummer Jake Hanna plus guest violinist Johnny Frigo and Jay Thomas on tenor and flugelhorn. A fire seemed to have been lit under Ellis for he plays on the well-rounded program with much more passion than he had on most of his later Concord albums. This CD is highlighted by "Just Blue," "Limehouse Blues," "Sugar Hill Stomp," and "Detour Ahead" but all 11 selections are worth hearing. Recommended." review

Personnel: Herb Ellis (guitar), Jake Hanna (drums), Melvin Rhyne (B-3 Organ), Johnny Frigo (violin), Jay Thomas (tenor sax, flugel horn)

01. Just Blue
02. Naptown Blues
03. Isn't It Romantic
04. Till The Hurt Goes Away
05. Limehouse Blues
06. Blues For Junior
07. Sugar Hill Stomp
08. Once I loved
09. Detour Ahead
10. Blues For Bernie
11. Amazing Grace

Recorded 1991.

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario