egroj world: Les McCann ltd. • On Time
PW: egroj

martes, 31 de octubre de 2017

Les McCann ltd. • On Time

Les McCann’s “On Time” was the eighth album of this talented and popular jazz pianist’s leader career. Always a consummately swinging and distinctively soulful communicator, he displays the full extent of his honest preaching, warmth and creativity in a range embracing the impressionistic on the introduction to On Time, and an expansive chordal approach on It Could Happen to You. In the pieces here, including four excellent originals by the group’s members, he is engagingly melodic over the opening of Fondue, a fine vehicle for improvisation, while Jefferson’s This for Doug is a lovely piece; and Maichen, by bassist Leroy Vinnegar, has a pretty, infectious melody, warmly embraced by McCann and the featured guest, Joe Pass, whose lucid solos are among the highlights of the album, particularly his theme statement on Yours Is My Heart Alone. Ron Jefferson and Vinnegar are ideal accompanists.

01. On Time 4:14
02. Yours Is My Heart Alone 4:45
03. This For Doug 5:35
04. Fondue 5:12
05. Bernie's Tune 3:02
06. Maichen 4:34
07. It Could Happen To You 5:00
08. You're Driving Me Crazy 4:58
09. So What 3:00
10. The Other Way*
11. Free At Pass/Thank God Almighty/Free At Pass*
* Bonus (According to the discography of the set, but unissued)

Les McCann – piano
Joe Pass - guitar
Leroy Vinnegar - bass
Ron Jefferson - drums

Label:Pacific Jazz Records

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario