egroj world: Jimmy Smith • Talkin Verve Roots of Acid Jazz
PW: egroj

martes, 12 de septiembre de 2017

Jimmy Smith • Talkin Verve Roots of Acid Jazz

Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Designed to appeal to hip-hop and acid jazz fans, not jazz purists, Talkin' Verve: Roots of Acid Jazz collects 14 tracks Jimmy Smith cut for Verve during the late '60s. Comprised of pop covers and funky workouts, the music is "jazzy," not jazz -- there's little improvisation on the record, but there is a lot of hot vamping, with Smith creating dense, funky chord clusters and bluesy leads. It's music that is devoted to the groove, and while a few of these cuts fall flat -- "Ode to Billie Joe" has no funk in it, no matter how hard you try -- but for the most part Talkin' Verve is soulful fun. Not much of this sounds like acid jazz, especially since the rhythms are a little stiff, but it's enjoyable lite funk, and it's more palatable in the compilation than it is on their original albums.

1 - Blues For 3+1
2 - Ode To Billie Joe
3 - Organ Grinder's Swing
4 - Ape Woman
5 - (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
6 - Funky Broadway
7 - Mellow Mood
8 - Burning Spear
9 - One Mint Julep
10 - Hobo Flats
11 - Groove Drops
12 - TNT
13 - Blues In The Night (My Momma Done Tol' Me)
14 - The Sermon

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario