egroj world: Frank Wess • Going Wess
PW: egroj

sábado, 17 de junio de 2017

Frank Wess • Going Wess

Review by Scott Yanow
This album gave Frank Wess (doubling on tenor and flute) his first opportunity to record with an organ, and he is in top form on this trio outing with organist Bobby Forrester and drummer Clarence "Tootsie" Bean. Burners alternate with warm ballads and Wess (whether on his tough tenor or fluid flute) matches very well with ForresThister's light, pre-Jimmy Smith organ style. In fact, this session swings so naturally that it could have been recorded in 1958. The ten superior standards are all given very favorable treatments, making this a highly recommended outing.

1  Au Privave 
2  The Lamp Is Low  
3  My Shining Hour 
4  Crazy He Calls Me 
5  Love Letters 
6  Frankie and Johnny 
7  Antigua 
8  I'll Never Smile Again  
  9  On the Street Where You Live 
10  Cotton Tail 

Personnel: Frank Wess (tenor saxophone, flute); Bobby Forrester (Hammond B-3 organ); Clarence "Tootsie" Bean (drums).
Recording information: 09/20/1993/09/21/1993.

This file is intended only for preview!
We ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario