egroj world: Charles Kynard • Legends of Acid Jazz
PW: egroj

jueves, 22 de junio de 2017

Charles Kynard • Legends of Acid Jazz

Review by Alex Henderson
Released in 1999 for Fantasy's popular Legends of Acid Jazz series, this reissue unites two of Charles Kynard's LPs of 1970, Afro-Disiac and Wa-Tu-Wa-Zui, on a single 76-minute  album . Both albums had been out of print for a long time, and copies of the organist's Prestige recordings had grown increasingly hard to find over the years. While the trumpet-less Afro-Disiac unites Kynard with tenor saxman Houston Person, guitarist Grant Green, electric bassist Jimmy Lewis and drummer Bernard "Pretty" Purdie, Wa-Tu-Wa-Zui employs Lewis, trumpeter Virgil Jones, guitarist Melvin Sparks and drummer Idris Muhammad. The albums are quite similar, though, and the emphasis is on accessible, groove-oriented soul-jazz, funk-jazz and boogaloos. Infectious numbers like "Bella Donna," "Trippin" and "Zebra Walk" won't appeal to jazz purists, but if you like your jazz drenched in R&B and funk, this album is consistently enjoyable. Kynard, like Charles Earland and other B-3 kings of that era, made jazz that was relevant to R&B fans--if you were a Baby Boomer who was digging James Brown, Marvin Gaye and the Temptations but hadn't yet developed a taste for the hardcore jazz of Phil Woods or Charles Mingus, Kynard was the type of artist who could be your introduction to improvisatory music. "Improvisation" is a key word here--while a lot of the quiet storm, crossover and NAC music that came out in the 1980s and 1990s avoided improvisation, stretching and blowing is the rule on this album. In a nutshell, this is commercial jazz with a brain as well as a backbeat.

1 Afro-Disiac
2 Bella Donna
3 Trippin'
4 Odds On
5 Sweetheart
6 Chanson De Nuit
7 Wa-Tu-Wa-Zui
8 Winter's Child
9 Zebra Walk
10 Something
11 Change Up

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario