egroj world: Regina Carter • Rhythms Of The Heart
PW: egroj

lunes, 10 de abril de 2017

Regina Carter • Rhythms Of The Heart

Regina Carter (nacida el 6 de agosto de 1966 en Detroit, Míchigan) es una violinista de jazz estadounidense. A los cuatro años de edad inició sus estudios como violinista clásica mediante el método Suzuki hasta los nueve años. Es prima del famoso saxofonista James Carter. Asistió a la secundaria Technical High School junto a su amiga cercana la cantante de jazz Carla Cook y esta fue la responsable de introducirle en la música de Ella Fitzgerald. En la secundaria tocó en la Detroit Civic Orchestra, también fue miembro del grupo de pop-funk Brainstorm y estudió jazz con Marcus Belgrave.

Recibió una licenciatura en música de la Universidad de Oakland en Rochester, Míchigan, y estudió en el Conservatorio de Música de Nueva Inglaterra en Boston antes de culminar su carrera de jazz en 1987.
Toda la bio:


This is violinist Carter's third album, and her first for Verve. On it, she makes good on the title's promise, exploring the rhythms of not just jazz, but Latin music, reggae, R&B, bossa nova and more. Things open with the furious hard bop of "Lady Be Good," on which Carter displays her formidable chops and makes plain her debt to jazz violin godfather Stuff Smith. Things take a more modern turn on the moody, reggaefied version of the Temptations classic "Papa Was a Rollin' Stone," which features a typically sultry guest vocal from Cassandra Wilson. Carter's rhythmic adventurousness is further highlighted by the syncopated, upbeat Latin groove of "Mojito" and the propulsive African flavor of "Mandingo Street." Throughout RHYTHMS OF THE HEART, Carter proves herself to be a well-rounded player, rooted in the jazz verities but modern and inquisitive enough to seek out new avenues of expression. Recorded at Avatar Studios, New York, New York on November 24 & 30 and December 8, 1998. Includes liner notes by Greg Tate. Recording information: Avatar Studios, New York, NY (11/24/1998-12/08/1998). Personnel: Regina Carter (violin); Richard Bona (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric bass, percussion); Cassandra Wilson (vocals); Romero Lubambo (acoustic guitar); Rodney Jones (guitar); Werner "Van" Gierig, Kenny Barron (piano); Peter Washington (bass); Lewis Nash (drums); Mayra Casales (percussion).

01. Oh, Lady, Be Good! [06:29]
02. Cook's Bay [05:53]
03. Papa was a Rollin' Stone [07:28]
04. Mojito [06:47]
05. Our Delight [04:29]
06. Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most [04:31]
07. Mandingo Street [04:02]
08. New York Attitude [04:40]
09. By the Brook [04:54]
10. Skeeter Blues [04:13]

Release: 1999
Label: Verve / 53:30

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario