egroj world: Rhoda Scott • Summertime
PW: egroj

miércoles, 29 de marzo de 2017

Rhoda Scott • Summertime

In the rush to exhume every Hammond B-3 jazz player of the 60s when acid jazz and Joey DeFrancesco first hit it big, Rhoda Scott seems to be forgotten. Perhaps it's because she's been living in Paris for the last 25 years. Perhaps it's because the classically-trained Scott attacks her instrument a little differently than the pisno players who learned the Hammond in a hurry to get gigs in a hurry. Scott's approach to the organ is as a band, not a single horn as Jimmy Smith and most other jazz organists. Also, her classical training gives her the sort of understanding of the organ's nuances that most of her contemporaries don't have. It should be noted that the only other musician on this 1991 compilation of ballads recorded in 1973 is drummer Michael Silva--Scott plays her own bass lines on the pedals (barefoot) without doubling on the left hand, which leaves her left hand free to do the sort of things the guitar player does in most organ groups. This set isn't recommended for those who want a hot party set of burners and blues (although she does turn up the heat on several cuts), Scott does err on occasion of being too show-offish in her virtuosity (or coming very close to sounding soap operaish) and Barbara Dennerlein fans will find it all too mainstream-sounding, but if you want some really pretty organ jazz (and yes, it is possible) and just some solid organ playing, you'll find it here from a woman who should be better known in the jazz world. And if you're wondering why the B-3 sounds a little different, that's because Scott uses both a Leslie speaker and the speaker Hammond preferred people used, which gives the B-3 a little bit of churchiness, even when the Leslie is on full speed.

01 - Summertime                                                            
02 - My Funny Valentine                                                    
03 - Round Midnight                                                        
04 - Misty                                                                 
05 - Tanikka                                                               
06 - Never Let Me Go                                                       
07 - Ballade For Doriane                                                   
08 - My Ship                                                               
09 - Mood Indigo                                                           
10 - Watch What Happens (Lola's Theme)                                     
11 - La Valse A Charlotte                                                  

Drums – Michael Silva
Organ – Rhoda Scott

Label: Verve Records ‎– 847 862-2, Polygram Jazz ‎– 847 862-2
Genre: Jazz

Recorded At – Studios Barclay-Hoche Enregistrements
1 TO 4,6,8 & 9 Recorded March 27,1973
5 & 11 Recorded August 27, 1975
7 & 10 Recorded March 28, 1973

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario