egroj world: Linda Dachtyl • Blue Bop

jueves, 30 de marzo de 2017

Linda Dachtyl • Blue Bop

Review by

Linda Dachtyls is an organist with roots in Jimmy Smith, Jimmy McGriff, and Hank Marr; the latter was one of her teachers at Ohio State. The music on Blue Bop straddles the boundaries between hard bop and soul-jazz, she swings constantly and, while reminiscent of past masters, she displays her own approach to the Hammond B-3. Dachtyls excels in the organ-tenor-guitar-drums format, utilizing some of Ohio's better straight-ahead players and romping throughout this easily enjoyable set of blues, ballads, and basic jazz material. Fans of '60s jazz organists will want to pick this one up.

1. Silver Spoon
2. Goin' Home
3. Bridge to Shangri-La
4. Sudden Samba
5. Well You Needn't
6. Remember
7. All the Things You Are
8. Walkin' with Mr. Lee
9. All About My Girl
10. Tenderly

Linda Dachtyl - Hammond B3
Gene Walker - tenor sax (1,3,7,8,10)
Bob Frascotti - tenor sax (4,5,6)
Tom Carroll - guitar (1,7,10)
Giles Ponticello - guitar (2,4,5,6,9)
Sean Carney - guitar (3,8)
Jim Rupp - drums (1,7,10)
Cary Dachtyl - drums and percussion (2-6, 8,9)
Producer - Tony Monaco

This file is intended only for preview!
I ask you to delete the file from your hard drive after reading it.
thank for the original uploader

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario