egroj world: Jutta Hipp • At the Hickory House
PW: egroj

domingo, 13 de noviembre de 2016

Jutta Hipp • At the Hickory House

At the Hickory House is a two volume live album by German-born jazz pianist Jutta Hipp featuring performances recorded in 1956 and released on the Blue Note label as BLP 1515 and BLP 1516.

Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine
At the Hickory House is a thoroughly appealing collection of lightly swinging small-combo jazz that draws equally from hard bop and soul-jazz. There's a soulful lilt to Jutta Hipp's playing that keeps it engaging and enjoyable. The rhythm section of Peter Ind (bass) and Ed Thigpen (drums) largely stay out of the way, letting Hipp dictate the tempo and mood of the pieces, and she has a knack for creating infectious, swinging interpretations of jazz and pop standards that are enjoyable and easy to listen to. Vol. 1 contains such staples as "Dear Old Stockholm," "Billie's Bounce," "Mad About the Boy," "Ain't Misbehavin'" and "These Foolish Things," all of which are performed with verve and style, making the record a wonderful little gem.

Volume 1
1 Take Me in Your Arms (Fred Markush) - 4:54
2 Dear Old Stockholm (Traditional) - 4:44
3 Billie's Bounce (Charlie Parker) - 4:06
4 I'll Remember April (Gene de Paul, Patricia Johnston, Don Raye) - 3:52
5 Lady Bird (Tadd Dameron) - 3:52
6 Mad About the Boy (Noël Coward) - 3:47
7 Ain't Misbehavin' (Harry Brooks, Andy Razaf, Fats Waller) - 5:02
8 These Foolish Things (Harry Link, Eric Maschwitz, Jack Strachey) - 3:59
9 Jeepers Creepers (Johnny Mercer, Harry Warren) - 8:46
10 The Moon Was Yellow (Fred E. Ahlert, Edgar Leslie) - 4:54

Volume 2
1 Gone With the Wind (Herb Magidson, Allie Wrubel) - 4:50
2 After Hours (Avery Parrish) - 4:40
3 The Squirrel (Dameron) - 3:46
4 We'll Be Together Again (Carl Fischer, Frankie Laine) - 3:15
5 Horacio (Jutta Hipp) - 3:20
6 I Married an Angel (Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers) - 4:24
7 Moonlight in Vermont (John Blackburn, Karl Suessdorf) - 3:24
8 Star Eyes (Gene de Paul, Don Raye) - 4:01
9 If I Had You Irving King, Ted Shapiro) - 3:54
10 "My Heart Stood Still (Hart, Rogers) - 4:21

Recorded at the Hickory House in New York City on April 5, 1956

Jutta Hipp – piano
Peter Ind – bass
Ed Thigpen – drums

4 comentarios: