PW: egroj

miércoles, 7 de septiembre de 2016

VA • Night Sounds - The Genesis Of Soul-Jazz Organ Combos [1956-1962]

Editorial Reviews
The most detailed CD exploration yet into the early 1960s rise of Jazz organists featuring the greatest exponents of the genre: Jimmy Smith, Jimmy McGriff, Brother Jack McDuff, Booker T and many others. Includes the defining hits like "Walk On The Wild Side", "I Got A Woman" and of course "Green Onion". One of the greatest things about this most popular sub-genre of jazz is how fresh most of the records still sound over fifty years after they were recorded. Many of these songs were covered by British bands during the blues boom and the genre was an important element in the emerging Mod movement.

Jimmy Smith, Bill Doggett, Hank Marr, Larry Young, Brother Jack McDuff, Richard ''Groove'' Holmes, Shirley Scott,  Lou Donaldson, Baby Face Willette, Booker T. & The MG's ...

Track Listings
Disc: 1
1. The Champ (Jimmy Smith)
2. Night Sounds (Ernie Freeman)
3. After Hours (Bill Doggett)
4. Backwards (Bill Doggett)
5. Tonk Game (Hank Marr)
6. Brother Jack (Brother Jack McDuff)
7. Wee Dot (Larry Young)
8. Back At The Chicken (Jimmy Smith)
9. Midnight Special (Jimmy Smith)
10. You Can't Sit Down (Phil Upchurch Combo)
11. Morris The Minor (Richard 'Groove' Holmes)
12. Ram Bunk Shush (Hank Marr)
13. The Push (Hank Marr)
14. Honeydripper (Brother Jack McDuff)

Disc: 2
1. Hip Soul (Shirley Scott)
2. Hip Twist (Shirley Scott)
3. Ribs 'N' Chips (Johnny Hammond Smith)
4. Sticks And Stones (Johnny Hammond Smith)
5. Face To Face (Baby Face Willette)
6. Something Strange (Baby Face Willette)
7. You Can't Sit Down - Part 1 (Bill Doggett & His Combo)
8. Meetin' Here (Curtis Amy & Paul Bryant)
9. I Got A Woman - Parts 1 & 2 (Jimmy McGriff)
10. Walk On The Wild Side (Jimmy Smith)
11. Funky Mama (Lou Donaldson & Big John Patton)
12. Green Onion (Booker T & The MGs)
13. Behave Yourself (Booker T. The MGs)

3 comentarios: