PW: egroj

viernes, 19 de agosto de 2016

Stanley Turrentine & The Three Sounds • Blue Hour - The Complete Sessions

The Three Sounds were pianist Gene Harris, bassist Andy Simpkins, and drummer Bill Dowdy, and they swung in-the-pocket. Although they were not as acclaimed as the Modern Jazz Quartet, the Ramsey Lewis Trio, and other marquee combos, their streamlined sound bridged Count Basie and bebop into a modern yet grooving sensibility. This two-CD set features the trio's entire 1960 Blue Hour sessions with saxophonist Stanley Turrentine. With Turrentine's robust, storytelling tenor sound, these dates are no-nonsense straight-ahead numbers and ballads, including "Willow Weep for Me," Andy Razaf's "Gee Baby, Ain't I Been Good to You," and Oscar Pettiford's "Blues in the Closet." Harris's lyrical ivory ticklings, Dowdy's zesty drum work, and Simpkins's deep and delicious bass lines get Turrentine's driving tenor as a topping and show that this ensemble was the real deal. --Eugene Holley Jr.

CD 1
1 - I Want A Little Girl
2 - Gee Baby, Ain't I Good To You
3 - Blue Riff
4 - Since I Fell For You
5 - Willow Weep For Me

CD 2
1 - Blues In The Closet
2 - Just In Time
3 - Gee Baby, Ain't I Good To You (alternate take)
4 - Where Or When
5 - Blue Hour
6 - There Is No Greater Love
7 - Alone Together
8 - Strike Up The Band

Stanley Turrentine (saxo tenor), Gene Harris (piano), Andrew Simpkins (contrabajo), Bill Dowdy (batería).
Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, Nueva Jersey 29 de Junio y 16 de Diciembre de 1960

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario