PW: egroj

miércoles, 6 de julio de 2016

Hank Garland • Move! The Guitar Artistry Of Hank Garland

This long-awaited two-disc set features all of Garland's jazz sides for Columbia Records between 1959-1960, including the complete albums Velvet Guitar, The Unforgettable Guitar of Hank Garland, and Jazz Winds From a New Direction. Although it may seem a bit quaint, in its time Jazz Winds was a revelatory performance; previously, it was almost impossible to believe that a country guitarist could attack jazz lines with this much imagination and finesse, even taking into account what Chet Atkins had already accomplished. Also surprising was the fact that Jazz Winds wasn't commercial or countrified in any way; it was marketed as a straight jazz album, played by a real jazz quartet that included Joe Morello (drums), Joe Benjamin (bass), and vibraphonist Gary Burton in his debut recording. However, even if that album caused all the fuss, there's terrific playing scattered throughout the other two, whether it's the cleverly titled "Call D. Law," the hard-swinging Garland original "Why Not?," or lovely takes on "Scarlet Ribbons" and "Polka Dots and Moonbeams." These sessions have become legendary in guitar circles, and the fact that most of them have been out of print for decades makes this reissue a real treasure for Garland fans.

Disc 1
1. All the Things You Are
2. Three-Four, The Blues
3. Move
4. Always
5. Riot-Chous
6. Relaxing
7. Call D. Law
8. It's Love, Of Course
9. Not for Me
10. (Tell Me) What Am I to Do?
11. You're Here Again
12. Pop Goes the Weasel

Disc 2
1. Autumn Leaves
2. Why Not?
3. Ed's Place
4. Scarlet Ribbons (For Her Hair)
5. Like Someone In Love
6. Ain't Nothing Wrong With That
7. Polka Dots and Moonbeams
8. Tammy
9. Secret Love
10. Greensleeves
11. Blame It On My Youth
12. Unless You're In Love
13. Just for Tonight
14. Close Your Eyes
15. Rainy Afternoon
16. Ed's Place (early version)*
17. Polka Dots and Moonbeams (early version)*
18. Some of These Days*
*previously unreleased

224 MB / 320 Kbps

part # 1
part # 2

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario