PW: egroj

jueves, 2 de junio de 2016

Wild Bill Davis • In A Mellow Tone

With the dynamic, swirling, sounds of his Hammond B-3 organ, Wild" Bill Davis provided a bridge from the big band swing of the 1930s and ‘40s to the organ-driven R&B of the 1950s and early-60s. Together with guitarist Floyd Smith and drummer Chris Columbus, Davis set the framework for the jazz organ combo sound.
Initially a guitarist, Davis made his debut with Milt Larkin's band in 1939. The group is remembered for the double saxophone attack of Eddie “Cleanhead Vinson and Arnett Cobb. Davis, who was inspired by the guitar playing of Freddie Green, remained with the band until 1942.
Moving to the piano, Davis joined Louis Jordan's Symphony Five in 1945. By then, he had already attracted attention as a skilled writer and arranger. He later furnished original material and arrangements for both Duke Ellington and Count Basie. He was scheduled to record his arrangement of "April In Paris", with the Count Basie Orchestra, in 1955 but was unable to make it to the recording sessions. Recorded without his participation, the tune wen on to be a top thirty pop hit.
Intrigued by the organ playing of Fats Waller and Count Basie, Davis began to experiment with the Hammond B-3. He soon developed his unique approach. “I thought of (the organ) as a replacement in clubs for a big band," he said during a late-1980s interview.
Although he left Jordan's band, after five years, to form his own trio, Davis periodically returned to play special engagements.
Although eclipsed by succeeding jazz organists, including Jimmy Smith and Bill Doggett in the late-1950s and Booker T. Jones in the 1960s, Davis remained active until his death, from a heart attack, in August 1995. His summer appearances in Atlantic City, New Jersey were an annual treat for almost three decades.
 A native of Moorestown, New Jersey, Davis studied music at Tuskogee University and Wiley College in Texas.  - Craig Harris.

1. Satin Doll (Ellington)
2. It´s All Right With Me (Porter)
3. But Not For Me (Gershwin-Gershwin)
4. The Nearness Of You
5. Wenkie (Davis)
6. In A Mellow Tone (Ellington)
7. Theme From Mr.Lucky
8. Cherokee (Noble)
9. Organ Grinders Swing
10. Ebb Tide (Sigman-Maxwell)
11. Flying Home (Goodman-Hampton)
12. Angel Eyes (Dennis-Adair)
13. Blue Skies (Berlin)
14. Tea For Two (Youmans-Caesar)
15. I've Got The World On A String
16. What's New (Burke-Haggart)
17. Always (Berlin)
18. Love For Sale (Porter)

Recorded in New York City, 1959-1960

 Featuring: Wild Bill Davis (organ), George Clarke (ts), Bill Jennings (g), Grady Tate (d)

108 MB / mp3-320Kbps

1 comentario: