PW: egroj

lunes, 16 de mayo de 2016

John Young Trio • Themes and Things

John Young
John Merritt Young (March 16, 1922 – April 16, 2008) was an American jazz pianist. Young played with Sarah Vaughan, Ella Fitzgerald, Dexter Gordon, and many others.[1] He recorded with his own trio in the 1950s and 1960s, and was a sideman for Von Freeman, Gene Ammons and others. He remained active in the Chicago jazz scene until a few years before his death.

Young was born in Little Rock, Arkansas, and his family relocated to Chicago when he was a toddler. He first toured in the 1940s with the popular big band Andy Kirk and His Twelve Clouds of Joy. After Young left Kirk's band and returned to Chicago, he performed with the Dick Davis combo until 1950, when he formed his own combo with Eldridge Freeman on drums and Leroy Jackson on bass. In 1957, he signed with Argo Records and recorded his first LP, Opus de Funk.

He was active in the Chicago jazz scene, regularly playing popular clubs with artists such as Dexter Gordon, Big Joe Turner, Von Freeman and others. He made more than a dozen appearances at the Chicago Jazz Festival, often as a sideman for tenor saxophonist Eddie Johnson. He retired in 2005 due to sciatic nerve inflammation. He died from multiple myleoma on April 16, 2008.

Dan Morgenstern, in Living with Jazz, called Young "one of Chicago's several unsung piano originals." called Young "criminally underappreciated outside of [the Chicago bop scene].

Tracks listing
A1 Portrait Of My Love
A2 When Sunny Gets Blue
A3 Take Five
A4 Peyton Place
A5 Fever
A6 Mr. Lucky
B1 Love Theme From "Spartacus"
B2 Weaver Of Dreams
B3 My Romance
B4 Playboy Theme
B5 One Eyed Jacks
B6 MJR Blues

John Young - Piano
William Yancey - Bass
Philip Thomas - Drums

recorded at:
June 6 & 7 1961, Ter Mar Recording Studios, Chicago
Engineer: Ron Malo
Supervision: Ralph Bass
Released: June 23, 1962

148 MB / 320 Kbps

4 comentarios: