PW: egroj

martes, 26 de abril de 2016

Hank Marr • Hank Marr Sounds From The Marr-Ket Place

Hank Marr (30 January 1927 – 16 March 2004) was a soul jazz and hard bop Hammond B3 organist and pianist born in Columbus, Ohio, probably best known for his many albums recorded under his own name for the Double-time record label.

Columbus natives Hank Marr and (Tenor Saxophonist) Rusty Bryant co-led a group that toured for several years (beginning in 1958 going into 1960’s). Later, Marr led a group that featured Electric Guitarist/Singer James Ulmer. Ulmer first recorded professionally with Marr in 1964. Ulmer later toured Europe under Marr in 1966-1967.

As a sideman, Marr made a name for himself playing with many accomplished musicians. In the late 1960s, Marr performed in a duo with guitarist Floyd Smith (musician) in Atlantic City, NJ.

Marr had two minor hit singles, "Greasy Spoon" (U.S. No. 101, 1964) and "Silver Spoon" (U.S. No. 134, 1965).

Organ [Hammond] – Hank Marr
Guitar – James Blood Ulmer
Saxophone – Rusty Bryant

A1 The Marr-Ket Place 2:29
A2 Soup Spoon 2:50
A3 Smothered Soul 5:00
A4 I Remember Acapulco 3:00
A5 Greens A-Go-Go 2:48
B1 Down In The Bottom 2:57
B2 My Dream Just Passed 3:07
B3 Home Fries 2:47
B4 Come And Get It 4:10
B5 Get On Down 3:20

Released: 1967

85 MB / mp3-320Kbps

2 comentarios: